Wed June 6th, 2001
Mon June 25th, 1990
Mon June 27th, 1983
Mon September 28th, 1981
Zoom (2001)
Balance of Power (1986)
Secret Messages (1983)
Time (1981)
Discovery (1979)
Greatist Hits (1979)
Roy Wood (1971-1972), guitar/vocals
Bev Bevan (1971-1988), drums
Rick Price (1971-1972), Bass
Michael D’Albuquerque (1972-1974), bass
Mike Edwards (1972-1974), cello
Colin Walker (1972-1973), cello
Hugh McDowell (1973-1977), cello
Mik Kaminsky (1973-1977), violin
Melvyn Gale (1974-1977), cello
Reverend Dave Boruff (2000-Present), saxophone
George Harrison (2000-2000), slide guitar
Suzie Katayama (2000-Present), cello
Roger Lebow (2000-Present), cello
Marc Mann (2000-Present), hythm guitar
Ringo Starr (2000-2000), drums
Rosie Vela (2000-Present), backing vocals
The group Lynne played with just prior to forming the Electric Light Orchestra was the Move. But ELO co-founder Roy Wood had been in several bands before the Move including one that Lynne also joined once Wood had moved on. The Idle Race had been around for some time when young Lynne signed on to play guitar, replacing Johnny Mann, who had in turn replaced Wood when he left for the Move.
Electric Light Orchestra
In his lengthy career, Jeff Lynne has amassed an impressive resume. He got his start in the late ’60s as a guitarist/songwriter with the eccentric/eclectic British pop-rock outfit the Move, replacing vocalist Carl Wayne. Shortly after joining that band, he and Bev Bevan joined Move founder Roy Wood in forming a side project that was intended to co-exist with the band. But the Move was soon supplanted by ELO, and Wood left after that band’s first album, No Answer, leaving Lynne and Bevan as the creative nucleus.

ELO combined a strong Beatles-esque pop influence with equally strong classical and rock elements. Unlikely as rock’n’roll-orchestral music might have seemed in 1973, Lynne and company were determined to make it work and by the end of the decade were enjoying huge popular success.

By 1981 the band had landed 17 songs in the Top 40 including “Evil Woman,” “Telephone Line,” “Don’t Bring Me Down” and “Do Ya” (a revamped version of a minor Move hit). Throughout the ’80s, Lynne’s reputation as a songwriter and producer outside the band grew and he racked up impressive credits working in the studio with Dave Edmunds, George Harrison, Roy Orbison and Tom Petty.

In 1988 he collaborated with Harrison, Orbison, Petty and Bob Dylan as a member of the Traveling Wilburys. ELO disbanded in 1990, the same year as Lynne’s first solo album, then reformed a year later as ELO II without Lynne. In 2000 Lynne reformed ELO and 2001 saw the release of the band’s first album in 15 years. In June of that year he joined Bob Coburn on Rockline for the first time in more than a decade.

08-26 - Silverchair  more>
08-28 - Robert Plant!  more>

08-21 - Supertramp!  more>
08-19 - Sinch / Breaking Benjamin  more>